Vital F1 | The tyres are a challenge says Whitmarsh
Vital Login
Social Login

Other Sites

Network Navigation

Vital Partners

'If It's F1, It's Vital'

The tyres are a challenge says Whitmarsh

With seven-time Formula One World Champion Michael Schumacher making a lot of complaints about the current tyres in F1 it is hardly surprising that it has become a big talking point.

When the most successful driver in the history of the sport talks, people tend to listen and when the German driver is being critical about something he is always going to get a reaction.

The Mercedes driver has been very critical of the Pirelli tyres this season, claiming that the tyres do not allow the drivers to drive to the limits of theirs and the cars ability, something that pure racers want to do every time they buckle their seat-belts.

However it's a complaint that appears to haven fallen on deaf ears.

Pirelli are working towards a design brief handed to them, which is to create more of a spectacle in terms of tyre strategy. It appears to work, with lots of variables thrown at Formula One teams over the course of a race weekend.

It might not suit the drivers or the teams, but for the spectators, it creates fascinating races and that is what McLaren team boss Martin Whitmarsh believes is the most important factor when discussing Pirelli tyres.

'There's no doubt the tyres are a definite challenge within Formula 1 and they have added to the spectacle, There's also no doubt when a driver has had a bad race he will complain about them.' he told Sky Sports.

'But if they made tyres that were very robust and not challenging in terms of management from either the team or driver's perspective then I'm sure the spectators will be critical of the tyres as they won't create the right spectacle.

He concluded: 'I think it would be wrong to criticise the tyre. I think you've got to look at you as a team and what the drivers are doing and look at how to manage the situation.'

Join Vital F1

It's easy to join up and join in on, simply click the link and enjoy getting involved!

If you are already a member of Vital Football, your logins will automatically work on!

The Journalist

Writer: Red5 Mail feedback, articles or suggestions

Date:Thursday May 10 2012

Time: 12:00PM

Your Comments

suppose at the end of the day, the tyres are the same for all drivers so still a level playing field. They used to be able to choose different manufacturers themselves didn't they or have I dreamt that?!
The Fear

Have Your Say

Log in...
with your social network     OR     with your Vital account

Recent Vital F1 Articles

2016 United States GP - FP2 (Friday October 21 2016)

2016 United States GP - FP1 (Friday October 21 2016)

Life will move on for Hamilton (Friday October 21 2016)

Blog: Austin Preview (Thursday October 20 2016)

Musical chairs continues in Austin (Wednesday October 19 2016)

Drivers make tyre selections for USA (Wednesday October 19 2016)

Who will win in the US of A? (Tuesday October 18 2016)

Hamilton having a mental meltdown? (Wednesday October 12 2016)

Has Rosberg wrapped up the 2016 title? (Tuesday October 11 2016)

Blog: Japanese GP Report (Sunday October 9 2016)

2016 Japanese GP - Race (Sunday October 9 2016)

Blog: Suzuka Qualifying (Saturday October 8 2016)

2016 Japanese GP - Qualifying (Saturday October 8 2016)

2016 Japanese GP - FP3 (Saturday October 8 2016)

2016 Japanese Grand Prix - FP2 (Friday October 7 2016)

2016 Japanese Grand Prix - FP1 (Friday October 7 2016)

Mercedes regroup following Malaysia (Thursday October 6 2016)

Blog: Suzuka Preview (Wednesday October 5 2016)

Who will win in Japan? (Tuesday October 4 2016)

Blog: Malaysian GP Report (Monday October 3 2016)

2016 Malaysia GP - Race (Sunday October 2 2016)

Blog: Sepang Qualifying (Saturday October 1 2016)

2016 Malaysia GP - Qualifying (Saturday October 1 2016)

Malaysia GP - FP3 (Saturday October 1 2016)

2016 Malaysia GP - FP2 (Friday September 30 2016)

2016 Malaysia GP - FP1 (Friday September 30 2016)

2016 the season of the swingers (Thursday September 29 2016)

Blog: Sepang Preview (Wednesday September 28 2016)

Ferrari fighting for best of the rest (Tuesday September 27 2016)

Horner hoping for another shot at Mercedes (Thursday September 22 2016)

F1 is boring says Alonso (Wednesday September 21 2016)

Singapore Swing? (Tuesday September 20 2016)

Who will win the Malaysian Grand Prix? (Monday September 19 2016)

Blog: Singapore GP Report (Sunday September 18 2016)

2016 Singapore GP - Race (Sunday September 18 2016)

Blog: Singapore Qualifying (Sunday September 18 2016)

2016 Singapore GP - Qualifying (Saturday September 17 2016)

2016 Singapore GP - FP3 (Saturday September 17 2016)

2016 Singapore GP - FP2 (Friday September 16 2016)

2016 Singapore GP - FP1 (Friday September 16 2016)

New upgrades for Haas and McLaren (Thursday September 15 2016)

Blog: Singapore Preview (Wednesday September 14 2016)

Drivers make tyre selections for Singapore (Tuesday September 13 2016)

Who will win in Singapore? (Monday September 12 2016)

Perez to stay with Force India (Friday September 9 2016)

Button to sit out 2017 Formula One season (Thursday September 8 2016)

Formula One sold (Thursday September 8 2016)

Is Kvyat about to lose his drive to Gasly? (Wednesday September 7 2016)

Massa announces retirement (Tuesday September 6 2016)

Blog: Italian GP Report (Tuesday September 6 2016)

Monza Saved (Monday September 5 2016)

Rosberg narrows championship deficit (Monday September 5 2016)

2016 Italian GP - Race (Sunday September 4 2016)

Blog: Monza Qualifying (Sunday September 4 2016)

2016 Italian GP - Qualifying (Saturday September 3 2016)

2016 Italian GP - FP3 (Saturday September 3 2016)

2016 Italian GP - FP2 (Friday September 2 2016)

2016 Italian GP - FP1 (Friday September 2 2016)

Blog: Monza Preview (Thursday September 1 2016)

Magnussen set for FIA fitness test (Wednesday August 31 2016)

Drivers make tyre selections for Italy (Wednesday August 31 2016)

Who will win in Italy? (Tuesday August 30 2016)

Blog: Belgian GP Report (Monday August 29 2016)

2016 Belgian Grand Prix - Race (Sunday August 28 2016)

Blog: Spa Qualifying (Saturday August 27 2016)

2016 Belgian Grand Prix - Qualifying (Saturday August 27 2016)

2016 Belgian Grand Prix - FP3 (Saturday August 27 2016)

2016 Belgian Grand Prix - FP2 (Friday August 26 2016)

2016 Belgian Grand Prix - FP1 (Friday August 26 2016)

Will Renault take up Magnussen option? (Thursday August 25 2016)

Hamilton set for huge grid penalty (Thursday August 25 2016)

Blog: Spa Preview (Wednesday August 24 2016)

Who will win at Spa? (Monday August 22 2016)

Formula One is a team sport (Friday August 19 2016)

Haas close to confirming new line-up (Wednesday August 17 2016)

All eyes on Ocon (Tuesday August 16 2016)

Toro Rosso expect team-mate rivalry (Friday August 12 2016)

Just let them drive! Says Wolff (Tuesday August 9 2016)

Rosberg will bounce back (Monday August 8 2016)

Archived Vital F1 Articles

List All Vital F1 Articles
Have your say
Click here to suggest an article
Click here to suggest a poll

Vital Members League (view all)

1. Red5 1103
2. DJ 1081
3. The Fear 773
4. Villaininthemerde 612
5. johnkelv 585
6. Druss_the_Legend 571
7. Push The Button 490
8. col8 334
9. The Intimidator 195
10. __villa__ 145

Current Site Poll (view all polls)

Who will win the USA?
Rosberg 20%
Hamilton 37%
Ricciardo 12%
Verstappen 25%
Vettel 6%
Raikkonen 0%
Someone else 0%